Rabi al-Awwal Seerah Course - Online Course

Rabi al-Awwal Seerah Course - Online Course

Regular price £44.99
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Students will receive a PDF workbook of the Arabic text of The Luminous Moons. The course + hardcover English book bundle is available here.

Studying the life and character of the Messenger of Allah ﷺ in the month of Rabi al-Awwal is a time-honored tradition maintained for centuries upon centuries by Muslims around the world.

Beginning Wednesday, September 28, on what will be either the 1st or 2nd day of Rabi al-Awwal in most of the world, Shaykh Ahmed al-Azhary will guide students on a journey through the Seerah and Shama'il, using Shaykh Salih al-Ja'fari's concise and lyrical prophetic biography The Luminous Moons as a guide.

This will be a unique opportunity to reconnect with the Best of Creation ﷺ through study of this extraordinary text. Students who complete the course will receive permission ('ijaza) from the grandson of Shaykh Salih al-Ja'fari, to narrate the text and host Majalis of Seerah where the text is recited to spread the Seerah of Allah's Messenger ﷺ.

Course schedule: Daily September 28-October 1, October 5-8, 2022 (1pm ET; 6pm British) – 8 sessions total – All sessions will be recorded if you cannot attend live.

1pm ET; 6pm London; 10am PST; 8pm Mecca; 1am Malaysia (1 hour long)

The course will include:

  • Close reading and study of The Luminous Moons and the lessons contained in this remarkable text
  • Discussion of the role of Seerah and Shama'il and the interplay between them
  • Time for Q&A in each class
  • Access to a private chat group with the instructor for additional questions and discussion
  • Students who complete the course will receive permission ('ijaza) to recite the text and to host gatherings where it is recited

ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR 

Shaykh Ahmed al-Azhary began his journey of studying traditional sciences about 20 years ago. In addition to studying with scholars from al-Azhar, he had the privilege of studying with visiting scholars from Algeria and India in a one-on-one format, and was thus given an exceptional opportunity to study and discuss advanced-level texts of different sorts and over a long period of time. Shaykh Ahmed has more than 70 Ijazas from scholars from all over the Muslim world.

Shaykh Ahmed holds degrees from American University in Cairo, Tulane University, The University of Alabama at Birmingham, and has obtained additional certificates in a dozens of different subjects. He is the author of Ruh al-'Ilm, a treatise in the art of scientific investigation, as well as a number of works on Islamic pedagogy, linguistics, and Hanafi Usul. He is currently a researcher in Islamic intellectual history and a teacher of traditional sciences under the supervision of Habib 'Ali al-Jifri, and teaches at Madyafat Shaykh Isma'il Sadiq al-'Adawi, a well-known learning center near al-Azhar Mosque in Cairo.